Waking up

When the weather is as moody as today, you just don’t want to get out of bed. No work, no obligations, no studying… just laying in bed, staring at the ceiling and rolling over to change sides (wishful thinking never hurt anyone, right?)

I was reading Thalia’s post (http://lifeinathens.com/) this morning and since I was in Athens for a few hours on Monday I have to say I really felt what she was describing. The look on the people’s faces combined with the rainy weather was very depressing and instantly changed my mood to the worse.

I didn’t go all the way to the city centre but I went to Kolonaki, that was close to where I had to be, and headed to Zara in order to buy 2 colored jeans that I wanted. What I saw had nothing to do with the area I knew… Lots of closed shops, few people on the street and the intense feeling of “abandonment”…

Zara’s security guard kept staring at me when I said “good day” and “goodbye”. Since when, dear fellow citizens, did we stop taking politeness for granted??? A sweet smile and a sweet hello can brighten your day… If we don’t fight pessimism with whatever we possess, how can we expect to get ourselves out of this neverending mess?

And in case you’re wondering… I got the jeans. A red and a bright green one! I also got a few pairs of shoes that I’ve been wanting for some time which were on sale (like 1/3 of the price)!
Have a lovely afternoon!

Coat : H&M
Faux Fur Vest : Zara Kids
Blouse : Etam
Skirt : United Colors of Benetton Kids
Bag : Vintage Paloma Picasso
Pendant : Vintage

Leave a Reply

